• Catalog #: DG-44
  • Release Date: April 26, 2011

As a teenager growing up on Long Island, Laura Stevenson privately wrote her first album of bare-bones, folk-and-punk-influenced indie rock songs, while also playing in Brooklyn’s DIY scene as a member of punk collective Bomb the Music Industry, heading out on self-booked tours around the US and abroad. Her debut album A Record came out in the fall of 2008 on Asian Man Records, and in 2011 she joined Don Giovanni with her band The Cans to release their more expansive sophomore record, Sit Resist.

A decidedly more collaborative album than A Record, Laura Stevenson’s second full- length was written with her full band. The record is about “sitting in one place but wanting to get somewhere else,” Laura said in 2011. “It’s about running in place.”

1. Halloween Pts. 1 & 2
2. Master Of Art
3. Caretaker
4. The Healthy One
5. Finish Piece
6. Peachy
7. 8:08
8. Red Clay Roots
9. Barnacles
10. Montauk Monster
11. The Wait
12. The Weight
13. I See Dark
Recorded by Eric Bennet at Hunt Studio

Artwork by Jeff Rosenstock